Things I Learned

Things I Learned: May

Things I Learned- May 2016

For the month of May, I learned a lot of important things and I’m certainly glad that summer is coming! I am definitely ready for it! So, here are the things I learned:

  • A Little About Self-Hosting

So, I just wanted to mention this because I talked a lot about this in my last post, and I thought I knew what was going to happen….but I did not. I thought that once I got everything setup right it would just switch over to A Small Orange. Well, this just shows how much I know about self-hosting (as you can see, I am clearly a beginner). It actually can take up to ten days for the domain to transfer, and I am sorry that I wasn’t informed enough about this to tell you earlier. I hope you are not disappointed, but it will be up and running soon, that I can promise you. There are only about eight days (max) left, so just hang tight, because it will be switching over soon!

  • Powerpoint Certification

This month I got certified in Powerpoint, which was very exciting! I learned a lot about how it works and even some less-known secrets of the software. I’m excited about this because now I have two certifications (I also have Word) and next fall I will get my other two  (Microsoft Access and Excel). My goal is to get all four and then maybe to dabble a little in Adobe software.

  • Emotions Anonymous

This month, I read a book called Breathing Room by Leeana Tankersley, and it really opened up my eyes to how I treat myself and how my emotions affect me. I saw some great quotes in there from Emotions Anonymous, and so I decided to pick up the book. Well, this is the best decision I have ever made! I’ve started to attend meetings and I have already begun to work a few of the steps (here is a post about my journey with Step 3). It’s really helped me to begin to accept myself, others, and begin to go into an even deeper relationship with God. If you want to check out the book, you can go here. If you want to check out Emotions Anonymous as a whole, you can check out their website here.

  • God’s Love

Recently, I read a book by a famous Christian writer named Brennan Manning. It’s called The Ragamuffin Gospel, and it is amazing! Even that is an understatement. As I read this book, I felt my heart slowly opening to this amazing, mysterious, wondrous love that is the love of God. It wasn’t as if I never experienced it before, but this book invited me to engage in it even deeper, to dare to live into it more than I ever could imagine. I would invite every Christian to read it, as it has been a beautiful, life-changing book for me to read, and it is even on Sarah Bessey’s 10 books that changed my faith list. They also made a movie out of it, which can be seen here.

  • Leeana Tankersley is One of My Favorite Writers

This is something I learned towards the beginning of the month. I was just starting to read Breathing Room and I became very engrossed in it. I realized that a lot of the things Leeana talked about were things that I wanted to talk about, things that I could definitely relate to and it was a joy to read about someone who had crossed the other side and found her breathing room. I felt like I need that spacious place as well, and decided to pursue it. I’m still pursuing it today, and I feel like I am slowly finding it. I hope to continue it and to learn more about God in the process. If you would like to check out the book, you can do so here.

That’s what I learned this month! You can share anything that you’ve learned this month in the comments. Feel free to join me in the comments! Thanks for joining me and I hope to see you next time!

 

6 thoughts on “Things I Learned: May

  1. You have a lovely, reflective site here, and I’m glad to meet you through Emily’s link-up! I’m going to check out several of the lessons you shared, including Emotions Anonymous and Leeana Tankersley. The Ragamuffin Gospel is one of my favorites too.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! Yeah, I love Brennan! He is amazing. I actually got into his stuff because of Sarah Bessey, and I’m so glad I did. Hope you enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

